be a local. in New Braunfels.

Legislative Conference Taking Shape

tlc-no-yearThe 51st Texas Legislative Conference is set for March 23-24, 2017 in the New Braunfels Civic Convention Center. A reception will be held on Thursday, March 23 for 2017 Texan of the Year Pike Powers. Powers is a long-time member of the conference committee and is credited with being a catalyst for the Austin tech economy since the 1980’s.

The Friday, March 24 half-day conference will kick off with a full breakfast, followed by an opening session featuring a conference dedication to Julian Read and the awarding of the Edmund Kuempel Public Service Scholarship Awards to two area high school seniors. Four consecutive panels will follow including Veterans Care for Texas, Corporate Welfare or Good Jobs, Local Control or Control the Locals, and a Media Panel on the Trump Administration and Texas. Moderators for the panels include State Rep. Drew Darby, Economist and former Texan of the Year Ray Perryman, Texas Tribune Publisher Evan Smith and Ross Ramsey, Executive Editor of the Texas Tribune.

At press time, a high-ranking state official has been invited to deliver the keynote luncheon address to conclude the event. More information on the 51st Conference can be found at


latest news